Feeling overwhelmed? – my PhD journey…

Today I felt compelled to write about something that is very close to my heart…
What is it about people and LONG work projects? The more I listen to friends, colleagues or other people trying to finish a huge project (like a PhD in my case; or a book; etc.) I realise I am not the only one feeling drained and struggling very hard…


I have started my PhD on Clinical Psychology, with the greatest of the enthusiasms… I loved my project (and still do) and was extremely happy and motivated about the beginning of that next chapter of my life. However, somewhere along the journey, the pressure increased, a permanent feeling of being beyond schedule arrived (and stuck on the back of my neck like a tattoo), and the guilt whenever I was NOT working on the thesis took over – I never managed to have a a proper vacation or totally relaxed weekend in 4 years… there is always a sense that I am under performing, which is a very difficult feeling for me to deal with, mainly because I had never dealt with anything like that before.

What happened?? When did it stop being exciting and turned into severe, chronic back and neck pain? Why did it become such a heavy burden carried over my shoulders, night and day?? (and how’s THAT for an appropriate metaphor?)

Why do we put ourselves through this exhausting and overwhelming phases? Where shall we draw the line and decide we have had enough?
I can’t help but wonder: is it better to drop it, and feel defeated, or hang on and feel miserable?

How do we get through something this overpowering? How do we stop procrastinating, focus and get the job done?

I believe that if we find ourselves in this kind of situation we cannot ignore it: we have to do something! The purpose of life, in my opinion, is FEELING HAPPY, it’s not ACHIEVEMENT… So if you are feeling like I was, for so many years, if you can’t take it anymore, if you just want to quit, or crawl in bed and sleep for a whole month… I say: ASK FOR HELP!

We cannot do this kind of journey on our own! Which is, actually, quite curious, considering most of the PhD work is done by ourselves and no one else – things like writing a thesis or a book are very lonely jobs, and they tend to isolate us. And then a vicious circle takes over and the less we do, the more we isolate ourselves (because we have to work) and the more deprived we are from LOVE and CARE the more miserable we feel and are, therefore, more likely of not being able to perform any work at all!

So I’ll say it again, just to make sure you hear me: ASK FOR HELP! Share your feelings, your fears (the gigantic panic/certainty we’re NOT going to make it) and then CHANGE…!

Like I said on my previous post: We have the power to be authors of our own lives, so start writing something else, because, trust me, I’ve been there, and THAT path does NOT lead to anywhere fun!

For me, changing incorporated several aspects, and THIS blog was one of them… So…
WHAT CAN YOU DO? What do you suggest ALL of us can do to get through these overwhelming projects? How can others help?

And now I just feel like finishing my reflexion using the words of Jim Hightower:

“Do something. If it doesn’t work, do something else. No idea is too crazy”

What ideas would you be kind enough to share with me? :)

Thank you for you company,  Raquel :)

17 thoughts on “Feeling overwhelmed? – my PhD journey…

  1. Tenho mania de perfeição, então pra mim tudo se torna mais trabalhoso, além do meu “tdah”, é uma luta, principalmente com projetos a longo prazo, e é uma sensação de frustração misturada com incompetência . Você começa a trabalhar no automático, e acaba realmente perdendo o foco e procrastinando, de tanto cansaço.

    Não sei e nem gosto de pedir ajuda, me fere isso, então aprendi a ir com mais calma, não me sobrecarregar tanto e saber delegar pequenas tarefas ou mesmo admitir que naquele momento não posso fazer tudo o que eu queria. E claro, saber quando é hora de parar e apenas relaxar, estou trabalhando nessa parte ainda rs!

    Minha vida tem se tornado mais simples desse jeito, estou facilitando tudo, e assim ganho o ânimo e a força que preciso pra seguir adiante com meus projetos que, embora cansativos, são muito importantes pra mim.

    • cah, mt mt mt obrigada pela sua partilha! obrigada por contrubuir pra esta caminhada… e me ajudar a reflectir e pensar em alternativas!
      é um processo mt duro e eu sinto q ainda tenho mt pra trilhar…!
      sabe bem sentir q tenho pessoas pra viajar cmg :)
      OBRIGADA novamente!
      bj grande

  2. Ótimo post, querida!
    Estou até sem palavras para comentar, porque me vi tanto nele! ahah :)
    Obrigada pelas sábias palavras! Certamente farão muitas pessoas, como eu, refletirem sobre suas vidas, sua condição, e sobre os caminhos que têm tomado.
    Grande beijo,
    Ludmila

    • Querida, muito obrigada pelo feedback :) fico mt feliz de saber q alguém se revê nas minhas palavras (sabe bem sentir que não sou a única!) :)
      Espero ir conseguindo inspirar e inspirar-ME… com os comentários das pessoas…
      É… viver não é muito fácil, não é? :) Vamos lá calçar o salto alto (porque somos Senhoras kkk) e continuar a caminhar ;)
      bj grd

  3. This is such an important subject! Thank you for sharing :) I think it’s very important to have ambitions but the most important is to do something you love. If you really like what you’re doing then you’re automatically good at it too. I think it’s also very important to have a social life and get your thoughts on other things once in a while :)

    • I really have to try harder to FOCUS while I’m working on the thesis and then FORGET about it and truly enjoy the other things I love…! (What a HUGE challenge for me!!!)
      Thx so much for contributing w/ your (always) great thoughts :)
      :) xx

  4. Eu gosto mesmo de ler seus posts. Acho bem interessante, como você falasse de você e da gente também, ah…não sei explicar, hehehe. Beijos brasileiros (como você diz)

    • Muito obrigada Luma :) É mesmo isso… eu procuro falar de MIM… mas sobre tópicos que eu penso que todo o o mundo sente! :) Fico MUITO feliz por te identificares e por gostares…
      ESPERO poder acrescentar algo à tua vida :))) Podes comentar com ideias tuas também porque eu gostaria que este blog fosse uma co-construção com os leitores :) que fossemos todos crescendo juntos! :)´
      beijo portugues ;)

  5. Amei Raquel, dicas importantes para várias situações da vida, onde somos pressionadas a persistir e não desistir, ou a parar e deixar de lado… amei a reflexão, fico feliz em saber um pouco mais de você, beijos

    Faby

  6. Oi Raquel!!! vi o seu video, e menina…como vc é bonita!!!! sem contar o ” sotaque” que deixa mais charmoso!!!!
    O meu inglês não é suficiente para o entendimento total, tem algum tradutor??/
    Tb sou psicoterapeuta psicanalista, vc atende em consultório?Bjs

    • Antes de mais, muito obrigada pelo elogio :)
      Tradutor… só se for o google translate… dá pra entender… mas perde a beleza toda, porque a traduçao fica mt feia ;)
      Sim, eu atendo em consultório :) para além de estar a fazer doutoramento, que aí voces chamam “doutorado” :)
      bjs e obrigada por passar por aqui :)

what do you think? please feel free to share :)

